What Does Erase This Device Do On Find My IPhone?

How do you check if Find My iPhone is off?

If you don’t know if your FMI (Find My iPhone) is ON or OFF just check it by IMEI.

Type your device IMEI number and check if it’s iCloud is ON or OFF.

Before you purchase an iPhone, iPad from somebody else, make sure that Find My iPhone Activation lock is turned off and the device is ready for you to use..

Does removing device from iCloud erase it?

If you choose not to keep any of it, any synced data with iCloud is removed from the iPhone. The data remains intact on the iCloud account (in the cloud) and can be accessed by logging in from any device using your iCloud login.

What happens when you erase device on Find my phone?

Erase device: Permanently deletes all data on your phone (but might not delete SD cards). After you erase, Find My Device won’t work on the phone. Important: If you find your phone after erasing, you’ll likely need your Google Account password to use it again. Learn about device protection.

Can you use Find My iPhone if the phone is off?

When your iPhone is lost, there’s an understandable tendency to panic. But even if your battery is dead or the Wi-Fi and cellular data are turned off, you can usually still find your iPhone. … But even if your iPhone battery is dead, finding the device is as simple as tracking the last known location.

How do you find your phone when its turned off?

Use Google Location History – now called ‘Timeline’ – to track your lost Android phone (even if it’s turned off)Your device is connected with your Google account.Your device has or had access to the internet (before it was turned off).More items…•

Can I erase my iPhone if it is offline?

If your device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it’s online. If you erase then find your iOS device, you can restore the information on the device using iCloud Backup (if backup was turned on before you erased it) or iTunes.

Is erase iPhone the same as factory reset?

Answer: A: Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on.

How long does it take to erase a device from Find My iPhone?

The used erasure method has the following impact: The “iOS smart reset” takes less than 1 minute if no no user data is found on the device. The erasure standard “Apple iOS erasure” erases the device using Cryptographic Erase. This takes 5-15 minutes.

Why is my device showing offline in Find My iPhone?

If you see “Offline,” “No location available,” or “Location Services Off,” your device might be offline for one of these reasons: It’s powered off, the battery has run out, or it’s been more than 24 hours since the last location was sent to Apple (if Send Last Location is turned on).

How do you cancel erase on Find my Device?

How To Cancel An Android Remote Wipe: Real SolutionShut down all data communications by removing the SIM and shutting down your WIFI network.Boot. Log into the phone. Switch to plane mode. Go to Settings>Security>Device Administrators>Disable ADM.Backup your data (optional)Reboot, re-enable ADM.

How do I take the lock off my phone?

How to Disable the Lock Screen in AndroidOpen Settings. You can find Settings in the app drawer or by tapping the cog icon in the upper-right corner of the notification shade.Select Security.Tap Screen Lock.Select None.

Does factory reset remove all data?

When you do a factory reset on your Android smartphone, it’s supposed to wipe it clean, but it doesn’t. It deletes the addresses of all of your data, so it no longer knows where it’s stored, but it doesn’t actually overwrite the data.

Does erase iPhone delete everything?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

How do you stop erase on Find My iPhone?

Cancel an erase If you erase an offline device and find it before it comes online again, you can cancel the erase request. In the Devices list, tap the device whose erase you want to cancel. Tap Cancel Erase, then enter your Apple ID password.

What happens when I remove an iPhone from my account?

If you’re no longer using an iOS device, a Mac, or an Apple TV, you can remove it from your account by following the steps below. When you remove a device set up to use Apple Pay, Apple Pay is disabled for the device, and your cards are removed from the device, even if the device is offline.

How do I turn off Find My iPhone without previous owner?

If the previous owner isn’t present, contact them and ask them to follow these steps:Sign in to iCloud.com with their Apple ID.Go to Find My iPhone.Click All Devices at the top of the screen.Select the device that you want to remove from iCloud.Click Erase [device]. … Click Remove from Account.